Board Members

The Board comprises of non-executive members who are responsible for directing the affairs of the Society.  In accordance with our Rules, they act in the interests of the Society and for the benefit of the community.

Board members are selected from a wide background bringing together professional, commercial, financial and local experience. There are currently eleven Board members.  

Back to the list

Nick Abbey


Nick Abbey image

Nick Abbey, Board Chair

In September 2015, Nick retired from his position as Chief Executive of the ExtraCare Charitable Trust which develops and manages affordable retirement villages throughout the Midlands. Prior to working there, he was Chief Executive of Hereward Housing in Ely until it joined Sanctuary Housing Group in 2005, where he was the Group Director responsible for services to tenants and leaseholders in 57,000 homes. Nick has been Vice Chair of the National Housing Federation, and was Chair of a local strategic partnership.

Nick is currently Chair of Tower Hamlets Community Housing, Director of Civitas Housing Advisers Limited, Trustee of Haddenham Community Land Trust and Independent Chair of the Standards Committee for the Associated Retirement Community Operators (ARCO) - a trade body for both private and not-for-profit operators of housing with care.

Date appointed: September 2015

Committee membership: 

Member of the Remuneration and Nominations Committee